Ford Fusion statistics span manufacturer specifications, EPA label estimates, controlled safety tests, recall populations and observational crash outcomes. The figures below focus mainly on U.S. model years and tests, while the sales trend is specifically for Canada.
Key Ford Fusion Statistics
The most useful headline figures are:
- In the 2019 U.S. market, the Ford Fusion offered five gasoline series: S, SE, SEL, Titanium and V6 Sport.
- In the 2019 U.S. market, the Ford Fusion seated five occupants.
- For the 2019 U.S. model year, passenger volume was 102.8 cubic feet.
- For the 2019 U.S. model year, cargo volume was 16.0 cubic feet.
- For the 2019 U.S. model year, overall length was 191.8 inches.
- For the 2019 U.S. model year, the wheelbase was 112.2 inches.
- For the 2019 U.S. model year, the 2.7L EcoBoost V6 produced 325 horsepower.
- For the 2019 U.S. model year, the 2.7L EcoBoost V6 produced 380 lb-ft of torque.
- On the 2019 EPA label, the 1.5L EcoBoost FWD Fusion was rated at 23 mpg city and 34 mpg highway in the U.S.
- On the 2019 EPA label, the hybrid powertrain was rated at 43 mpg city and 41 mpg highway in the U.S.
- On the 2019 EPA label, the hybrid powertrain had an estimated annual fuel cost of $900 in the U.S.
- In the 2019 U.S. model year, the Fusion Hybrid/Energi family was listed at 188 combined horsepower.
- In the 2019 U.S. model year, Fusion Energi cargo volume was 8.2 cubic feet.
- In the 2013 IIHS U.S. test vehicle, peak roof-test force was 17,527 pounds-force.
- In the 2013 IIHS U.S. small-overlap test, maximum lower hinge-pillar intrusion was 16 cm.
- In the 2017-18 IIHS U.S. tests, optional Pre-Collision Assist avoided collisions at both 12 mph and 25 mph.
- For 2013-14 Fusion 2WD vehicles in the cited U.S. FARS cohort, the observed rate was 27 driver deaths per million registered vehicle years through 2015.
- For 2014-17 Fusion plug-in hybrids in the cited U.S. FARS cohort, the observed rate was 15 driver deaths per million registered vehicle years through 2018.
- NHTSA recall 25V442 potentially involved 5,737 2019-2020 U.S. Ford Fusion vehicles.
- Ford Canada reported a 22% increase in Fusion sales in calendar 2019.
Contents
- Ford Fusion model range, dimensions and capacity
- Ford Fusion engine power and torque data
- Ford Fusion fuel-economy statistics
- Ford Fusion hybrid and plug-in hybrid statistics
- Ford Fusion safety-test statistics
- Ford Fusion recalls, sales and real-world outcomes
Ford Fusion Model Range, Dimensions and Capacity
The 2019 U.S. gasoline lineup contained five series: S, SE, SEL, Titanium and V6 Sport. Ford’s product guide treats the hybrid and Energi variants separately, so the five-series count does not include those electrified series.
The same 2019 U.S. specification gave the sedan seating for five occupants, 102.8 cubic feet of passenger volume and 16.0 cubic feet of cargo volume. Total interior volume was 118.8 cubic feet.
| 2019 U.S. specification | Measurement |
|---|---|
| Length | 191.8 inches |
| Wheelbase | 112.2 inches |
| Height | 58.2 inches |
| Width, mirrors folded | 75.2 inches |
| Front headroom | 39.2 inches |
| Maximum front legroom | 44.3 inches |
The fuel tank depended on drivetrain: 16.5 U.S. gallons for front-wheel drive and 18.0 gallons for all-wheel drive. These are manufacturer specifications, not owner measurements. 2018-19 Product Guide: 2019 Ford Fusion
Ford Fusion Engine Power and Torque Data
The 2019 U.S. gasoline powertrains covered four displacement levels. Ford rated the engines at their specified peak engine speeds, while the gasoline configurations used a six-speed automatic transmission; the hybrid uses an eCVT.
| Engine | Power | Torque |
|---|---|---|
| 2.5L iVCT I-4 | 175 hp at 6,000 rpm | 175 lb-ft at 4,500 rpm |
| 1.5L EcoBoost I-4 | 181 hp at 6,000 rpm | 185 lb-ft at 4,320 rpm |
| 2.0L EcoBoost I-4 | 245 hp at 5,500 rpm | 275 lb-ft at 3,000 rpm |
| 2.7L EcoBoost V6 | 325 hp at 5,500 rpm | 380 lb-ft at 3,000 rpm |
The engine displacements were 2.5, 1.5, 2.0 and 2.7 liters respectively. The figures are manufacturer ratings for the 2019 model year and should not be read as owner-dyno results. 2019 Fusion Order Guide
Ford Fusion Fuel-Economy Statistics by Powertrain
The 2019 EPA-label figures show how drivetrain and engine choice changed rated efficiency in the U.S. They are estimates, not measured owner fuel economy, and the annual-cost figures depend on assumed fuel prices and annual mileage.
| 2019 U.S. configuration | EPA city | EPA highway | Estimated annual fuel cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1.5L EcoBoost FWD | 23 mpg | 34 mpg | $1,400 |
| 2.0L EcoBoost FWD | 21 mpg | 31 mpg | $1,550 |
| 2.5L FWD | 21 mpg | 31 mpg | Not stated here |
| 2.0L EcoBoost AWD | 20 mpg | 29 mpg | Not stated here |
| 2.7L EcoBoost AWD | 17 mpg | 26 mpg | Not stated here |
| Hybrid | 43 mpg | 41 mpg | $900 |
The 1.5L EcoBoost FWD label therefore paired 23 city and 34 highway mpg with an estimated $1,400 annual fuel cost, while the 2.0L EcoBoost FWD label estimated $1,550 per year. The hybrid label listed $900 annually, but none of these estimates is a guarantee of real-world fuel use. 2019 Fusion Order Guide
Ford Fusion Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid Statistics
Ford listed a 2.0L iVCT Atkinson-cycle I-4 for the 2019 Fusion Hybrid/Energi family and rated the combined powertrain at 188 horsepower. That combined figure is not the same type of measure as a gasoline engine’s peak rating.
The hybrid retained 102.8 cubic feet of passenger volume but had 12.0 cubic feet of cargo volume. Energi cargo volume was lower at 8.2 cubic feet, while the Hybrid/Energi fuel tank capacity was 14.0 U.S. gallons.
These capacity differences matter when comparing body utility across the gasoline, hybrid and plug-in hybrid families: the passenger-volume figure remained the same in the cited guide, but cargo measurements differed. 2018-19 Product Guide: 2019 Ford Fusion
Ford Fusion Safety-Test Statistics and Crash Prevention
IIHS measurements describe controlled test vehicles, dummies and equipment configurations. They are useful test results, but they are not direct guarantees of field outcomes.
In the 2013 U.S. IIHS roof-strength test, the Fusion test vehicle had a 3,411-pound curb weight and reached a peak force of 17,527 pounds-force. The resulting strength-to-weight ratio was 5.14.
The 2013 driver-side small-overlap test recorded 16 cm of maximum lower hinge-pillar intrusion and 7 cm of footrest intrusion. The dummy-based measures included a maximum HIC-15 head-injury criterion of 54 and maximum chest compression of 14 mm.
For 2017-18 U.S. models, the optional Pre-Collision Assist system avoided a collision in both the controlled IIHS 12-mph and 25-mph tests. The result applies to the optional system and those controlled tests, not to a population-level crash rate. 2013 Ford Fusion 4-door sedan ratings and 2017 Ford Fusion 4-door sedan ratings
Ford Fusion Recalls, Sales and Real-World Outcome Statistics
The available real-world figures cover specific cohorts and periods rather than every Fusion on the road. The IIHS FARS rates below are observational driver-death rates, and each exposure population and confidence interval should remain attached to its estimate.
| Cohort and geography | Period | Driver deaths per million registered vehicle years | Exposure | Confidence interval |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2013-14 Fusion 2WD, U.S. | Deaths through 2015 | 27 | 663,035 vehicle years | 13-42 |
| 2014-17 Fusion 2WD, U.S. | Deaths through 2018 | 39 | 2,181,340 vehicle years | 30-49 |
| 2014-17 Fusion hybrid 2WD, U.S. | Deaths through 2018 | 34 | 294,573 vehicle years | 10-58 |
| 2014-17 Fusion plug-in hybrid, U.S. | Deaths through 2018 | 15 | 100,620 vehicle years | 0-36 |
| 2014-17 Fusion 4WD, U.S. | Deaths through 2018 | 22 | 135,342 vehicle years | 0-45 |
The earlier 2013-14 Fusion 2WD cohort counted 22 overall driver deaths, including five multiple-vehicle deaths and one single-vehicle rollover death. Those counts describe the cited exposure cohort, not all Fusions.
The later 2014-17 comparison shows different observed rates by powertrain and drivetrain, but the confidence intervals are especially important for the smaller plug-in hybrid and 4WD exposures. These observational statistics should not be interpreted as causal comparisons or as a forecast of an individual driver’s risk. IIHS Status Report, Vol. 52 No. 3 and IIHS Status Report, Vol. 55 No. 2
NHTSA recall 25V442 potentially involved 5,737 2019-2020 U.S. Fusion vehicles built from August 21, 2018 through July 31, 2020. That is the population for one software recall, not a count of every Fusion recall or every Fusion vehicle. Part 573 Safety Recall Report 25V442
Ford Canada reported that Ford Fusion sales increased 22% in calendar 2019. This is a company-reported Canadian year-over-year change, and the release does not establish absolute sales volume; it should not be generalized to the United States or worldwide. Ford is the best-selling auto brand in Canada for an 11th consecutive year